Student Association of Global Affairs

Our Mission

The purpose of the Student Association of Global Affairs (SAGA) is to enhance the learning environment for graduate students by facilitating and promoting communication and cooperation among and between Global Affairs graduate students, the Division of Global Affairs (DGA), faculty and staff affiliated with DGA, the greater Rutgers University academic community, and practitioners in the field.

Additionally, the SAGA executive board is responsible for creating a community for DGA students on campus, organizing campus wide activities, and fundraising. We are responsible for not only carrying out our duties but also ensuring that we are exemplary Global Affairs students. Our mission as an organization is to use our positions to bring awareness and change to the many global issues that face our community and society. By acting as young leaders for change we will be able to inspire the same actions within DGA students and throughout the Rutgers community.

Changing the Future

SAGA representatives are not only shaped by their studies at DGA but by the different international, domestic and regional organizations they belong to; each contributing differently to the association and acting as ambassadors by bringing international issues straight to DGA students through SAGA. Past events have included award winning documentary showings followed by panel discussions, the annual joint DGA/SAGA Food and Music Festival and several other events and sponsorships within the city of Newark, New York City and the greater Rutgers community.

Fall 2015 SAGA Events

  • September 9: Brown Bag Lunch and Discussion on the Iran Deal, 1:00-2:00 p.m.
  • September 30: SAGA General Body Meeting 4:00 p.m. student lounge
  • October 7: Ph.D. Roundtable, 1:00-2:00 p.m
  • October 14: Brown Bag Lunch and Discussion Topic TBD, 1:00-2:00 p.m.
  • October 28: M.S. Roundtable 1:00-2:00 p.m.
  • November 4: Ph.D. Roundtable 1:00-2:00 p.m.
  • November 11: SAGA General Board Meeting 4:00 p.m.
  • November 17: Thanksgiving Pot-Luck, 1:00-2:00 p.m.
  • November 18: Brown Bag Lunch and Discussion, Topic TBD
  • December 9: Holiday Party

2015-2016 Executive Board:

Kathryn Duffy President Kelsey Lizotte Vice President Sara Yllescas Secretary Meghan Sullivan Treasurer Mohammad Barakat Masters Student Representatives Iuliia Kononenko Doctoral Student Representative

2014-2015 Executive Board:

Matthew Holly President Eltion Meka Vice President Kelsey Lizotte Secretary Kathryn Duffy-Jaeger Treasurer Marc Lane Masters Student Representatives P.J. Blount Doctoral Student Representative  

2013-2014 Executive Board:

Jeff Benvenuto President Debbie Morrison Vice President Yiannis Floropoulos Secretary P.J. Blount Treasurer Claudia Casal Masters Student Representative Chika Okoye Doctoral Student Representative  

2012-2013 Executive Board:

Debbie Morrison President Jeff Benvenuto Vice President Erika Turner Secretary Chika Okoye Treasurer Katherine Mauro Masters Student Representative Monica Alava Doctoral Student Representative  

2011-2012 Executive Board:

Simone Bridgemohan President Aida Figueroa Vice President Sara Brandsema Secretary John D. Handal Treasurer Taimur Ahmed Masters Student Representative John Ottomanelli Doctoral Student Representative  

Share this: